Collaborative Project- The End is Near…

13 04 2010

Thursday, April 15th is our final deadline for the Computer Literacy 8 students to hand in their glogs for marking. The glogs will include both of their digital stories that they have been working on. I would just like to say that I really enjoyed working on this project. I felt so happy when I received emails from the students during their Easter break asking questions. Many of them worked on their stories and are almost done. I think this is a true sign of engagement, when they work on something when they don’t need to be.

I know the students that we are working with because they are a class I taught in my internship. I felt that this aided my ability to help them because I knew what level each student is at, which ones might struggle at bit more, and which ones needed motivation. Amy posted her frustrations with this a little while ago and I agree that it would have been more difficult to assess their work had I not taught them before.

One thing I found extremely beneficial as we have been getting into the marking is Google Docs. Amy set us up with everything and we have both been going in and collaborating about the marks we are giving the students. This has shown me that even with team teaching, assessment can be done online.

One other aspect of this collaborative project that I enjoyed was working with Amy and our cooperating teacher, Don Wihak. Don let us go where we wanted with the assignment and it was nice to see something that we created fall into place and work. Also, the emails that Don has sent us saying how much the students are enjoying the project makes me feel excited and think of the possibilities of what I can do with my students once I get into the teaching world. Amy has also been a pleasure to work with for this collaborative project. We met in person one time to get everything organized and from there we have done all of our collaboration online. We have sent numerous emails to one another to make sure we are both on the same page and are both excited to see the end results of the student’s work.

I will write another post after the students have emailed us their glog links to let you know how their stories turn out!

Actions

Information

One response

19 04 2010
Collaborative Project- The finish line! « Kaylamarlane's Blog

[…] Collaborative project…the end is near […]

Leave a Reply

